North Carolina to Double Fines For Child Labor Violations
July 17, 2009
On Wednesday, the North Carolina General Assembly sent to Governor Perdue a bill intended to significantly strengthen fines for child labor violations. The bill essentially doubles existing civil penalties for child labor violations, raising the fine for working hours violations to between $500 and $1000 per occurrence. Minors who become injured while working in a prohibited occupation can cost the employer up to $14,000 per violation.
The new law will take effect on December 1. North Carolina requires a child labor certificate for any employee under the age of 18.